Boyen receives European Hospitality Awards honour

3 August 2016

Filip Boyen has been revealed as the 2016 recipient of the European Hospitality Awards’ Lifetime Achievement Award.

The accolade recognises a person for service to the hotel community and their body of work throughout a career in hospitality. Previous winners include former Rezidor president and CEO Kurt Ritter, chairman and founder of Melia Hotels International Gabriel Escarrer Juliá, and legendary hotelier Sir Rocco Forte.

Appointed CEO of Small Luxury Hotels Of The World (SLH) in August 2015, Boyen, who originates from Belgium, is a seasoned hospitality industry veteran with 35 years of experience, from the frontline to the boardroom. Prior to joining SLH he served as COO and SVP for Belmond (formerly Orient Express), a position he held for six years.

During his 18 years with Belmond, Boyen rose through the ranks, starting from stints as general manager in Bora Bora and Peru through to a number of high level operations positions. He began his career as a commis and chef de partie in Belgium, before taking on his first GM position in Moscow.

The European Hospitality Awards are now in their seventh year. Judges for this year’s event include Ted Teng of Leading Hotels of the World, CitizenM’s Michael Levie, Mark Wynne-Smith, global CEO of Jones Lang LaSalle’s Hotels & Hospitality Group, and European Hotel Managers Association president Hans Koch.

The awards ceremony will take place at a gala dinner in London on 3 November. For more information on the event, visit

Privacy Policy
We have updated our privacy policy. In the latest update it explains what cookies are and how we use them on our site. To learn more about cookies and their benefits, please view our privacy policy. Please be aware that parts of this site will not function correctly if you disable cookies. By continuing to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy unless you have disabled them.